Carrickfergus Musical Festival Association


Carrickfergus Music and Speech & Drama Festival is held annually to promote the study and cultivation of music and to encourage the art of speech and drama.

Amateur festivals have been active for over a century in our local communities and increasing leisure time and better educational opportunities are producing many talented amateur musicians, speakers and actors. Preparing for and performing at a festival involves young people in group activity and individual achievement. They gain a deeper appreciation of their repertoire and of the work of others. Each performer receives an adjudication from an expert in the genre entered. The inspiration gained from skilled adjudicators raises standards in amateur work throughout the country and all performers should leave with a sense of achievement. The main venue is Carrickfergus Town Hall and the Festival committee is indebted to the support provided by Mid & East Antrim Borough Council.

Carrickfergus Festival has been a starting point for many professionals, who began as amateurs, e.g. Barry Douglas and Katie Melua.


  • Strings
    • Wed 10th April 2019
  • War Mem. Hall
    North St. Church
    • Sat 30th March 2019
  • War Mem. Hall
    North St. Church
  • Woodwind
    • Tue 9th April 2019
  • Town Hall
  • Speech
    • Mon 1st April
    • to
    • Fri 5th May 2019
  • Town Hall
  • Music
    • Tues 9th April
    • to
    • Sat 13th April 2019
  • Town Hall
  • 2019 Official Accompanists
  • Junior Strings - Mrs. Stella Graham
  • Senior Strings - Mr. Darren Baird
  • Brass - Mr. Darren Baird
  • Woodwind - Mr. Darren Baird
  • Junior Vocal - Mrs. H Dixon
  • Senior Vocal - Mr. Darren Baird
  • How to Enter

Please read the Run My Festival instructions here

Use our on-line entry system here


Details of this years adjudicators are as follows:

  • Brass - John Houston
  • Woodwind - Helen Deakin
  • Strings - Helen Deakin
  • Speech & Drama - Marcia Carr
  • Music - Helen Deakin


Patron - Mr D D Graham

President - Mr Thomas Creighton MBE

Vice Presidents - Mrs. M. Glover, Mrs. D. Holmes, Mr. J. B. Stewart, Mr. C. Hilditch

ChairPERSON - Mr. J. McIlwaine

Vice Chairman - Mr N Lamont

Hon Treasurer & Membership Contact - Mr J Richardson JP

Speech & Drama Secretary - Mrs MARY MUIR

Assistant Speech and Drama secretaries - Mrs. Isobel Day & Mrs. Juliette Rainey

Hon Music Secretary - Mrs A Stewart LTCL

Assistant musical secretaries - Mr. Noel Lamont & Mrs Ruth Neale